Race Across Town

Phillip took the day off, so I took the 43 to the U District. I started reading Free Boy along the way. It’s a fascinating book, telling a story of the fringes of slavery in this country.

When my work in the U District was done, I sent a text message to Phillip: I’m leaving the U District, and am waiting for a 43. He replied: I’m slowly getting ready.

I read Free Boy as the 43 took me over Capitol Hill. As we turned from Olive to Bellevue, my phone started ringing. It was Phillip. He was on Broadway, waiting for the 49. We discussed details on where to meet, and at which tunnel station Phillip should exit.

It felt like a race, I thought. I’d reach Downtown first, of course, but by how much? Would Phillip arrive in the tunnel while I was waiting on the platform? Would he try to call me while I was in the elevator up to my desk?

I got to Westlake Station and, after a few minutes’ wait, a 41 bus took me to Pioneer Square Station. I got to my desk and checked my phone. There were no messages from Phillip. I set my cell phone on my desk and started working.

Finally, my cell phone rang. Phillip was in the lobby. For reasons neither one of us can figure out, it had taken him an hour to get from Broadway to Downtown.

I clocked out for lunch. I found Phillip in the lobby, and we went to the observation floor together. We had a great view of the city, and the surrounding area.

Phillip also wanted to see my desk and meet my coworkers, but I work on a secured floor – no visitors.

I directed Phillip to the Central Library, and we said goodbye.

Leave a comment