A Couple Of Last Mochas

Phillip asked me if I had any ideas for lunch today. I immediately responded: “Let’s go to Cintli while it’s still open.” Phillip agreed to that idea, but the question was: Was Cintli still open? Neither of us knew. I sort of remembered reading that it was closing on the 27th or 28th of this month. Phillip sort of remembered that, too. So we agreed to try Cintli, and if it was closed, continue on the Teriyaki & Wok.

Cintli was still open, but its food menu had been erased from the blackboard. We ordered a couple of Myan Mochas and learned that today was its last day on Broadway.

We chatted with the staff, enjoyed our Myan Mochas, and then continued on to Teriyaki & Wok.

After lunch, we stopped into QFC. Then we went into the library, where my copy of The Martian, by Andy Weir, was waiting.

I started reading The Martian as soon as we got home. So far, it’s living up to the hype. I’m having a hard time putting this book down.

The Martian is the story, told in personal logs, of an astronaut on the third manned landing on Mars who is left behind when the mission is suddenly aborted and he’s left behind, presumed dead. He’s trying to survive, using some brilliant and detailed methods, for the next four years, when the fourth mission is scheduled to land. Meanwhile, he’s passing his free time with the other crew members’ USB storage of personal entertainment. His crew members all seem to share a taste for 20th century pop culture. I love this: “For tonight, I have to get back to Three’s Company. I stopped last night in the middle of the episode where Mr. Roper saw something and took it out of context.”

The problem I’m facing is that I’m also having a hard time putting 2001: A Space Odyssey down. It’s not a library book, and I’ve read it before, and I know how it ends, so I should set it aside and concentrate on The Martian. But I can’t put either book down. So, I also read a few chapters of 2001 today, in-between chapters of The Martian.

I seemed to be on a science fiction kick these days, as far as books go. I was underwhelmed by Neuromancer. I’m excited by 2001: A Space Odyssey, and even more excited by The Martian.

4 thoughts on “A Couple Of Last Mochas

Leave a Reply

