You Can’t Get Something For Nothing, I Guess

I received a response yesterday from Kobo customer support, about those two eBooks which mysteriously appeared in my library after I uploaded those four free eBooks from Emerald City ComiCon. When I first contacted them, I thought I’d made myself clear that I wasn’t complaining – I was merely asking three questions: Why did I receive those additional books, was I charged for them, and why didn’t Phillip receive those additional books, even though he’d redeemed the same coupon? Customer support, however,  apologized  that Phillip didn’t receive all books he’d requested.

I replied that that wasn’t the issue. I was merely asking if I was charged for the two additional books.

I received a second response from Kobo customer support today. They let me know I was not charged for the additional book, and let me know they have been removed from my library. (I wasn’t expecting that last part.)

So, I never did learn where those books came from. It’s frustrating when customer support doesn’t listen to its customers. Oh well – Until I connect my eReader to my account, I have two additional free eBooks.

Yesterday, Phillip went to a NorWesCon meeting. I spent the day doing house cleaning, playing Diablo III, reading 2010: Odyssey Two, and writing the end of my story. Even as I wrote it, I had only a vague idea of where the story was going. I found that I didn’t have enough to fill a third part, but I had almost too much for the second part. I found an ending I was satisfied with and printed it out.

My story was well received at Writers’ Group today. It seems that Possum Pete is a popular character. The one negative comment was that the ending was abrupt. I completely agree with that. I may rewrite the ending someday.