Reading In A Theater

Phillip and I drove up to The Crest this afternoon and watched Frozen. (For anyone reading this who is unfamiliar with the Seattle area, The Crest is a wonderful old movie theater in the out-of-the-way neighborhood of Ridgemont, north of Seattle. It shows second-run movies for $3. They’ve recently started showing 3D movies for $4.50. We saw Frozen in 2D.)

I enjoyed Frozen. The animation was terrific, and the story was strong. It was fun.

We got to the theater very early, despite heavy traffic on I-5. I love this snappy comeback from the guy at the ticket window:

As Phillip was buying his ticket, the ticket guy says, “You’re the first person to buy a ticket for Frozen.”

Phillip replied, “Do I win a prize for that?”

Without hesitation, the ticket guy answered, “Yes, your choice of seats.”

The audience was, of course, a lot of little kids. Before the movie started, I heard a little girl ask, “Mommy, why are grown-ups watching this movie?” Mommy replied, “A lot of grown-ups like this movie.” (If the little girl had asked me, I would have answered, “One of the benefits of being a grown-up is that we get to watch whatever movie we want.”)

As soon as Phillip and I found our choice of seats in the theater, I pulled out my Kobo Mini and continued reading 3001: The Final Odyssey, which I’d started yesterday. Phillip was surprised that I skipped 2061: Odyssey Three. No, I corrected him, I read it. As I said that, I realized that I’d sailed right through the 350+ pages of 2061 in record time (for me). It may be a cliché, but I really am have a hard time putting the book series down.

2061: Odyssey Three picks up where 2010 left off – 51 years later (not counting the glimpse of life in the year 20,001). Heywood Floyd is either in his late 60s or early 100s. (There’s some debate about how to measure his age.) Dr. Floyd is the only character surviving from the previous two stories, aside from the minisun, Lucifer. It’s a more confined story than the previous two. (Since 2001 spans 3 million years, that may not be saying much.) Basically, it’s a story about a pleasure cruise to Hailey’s Comet and a rescue mission. But, of course, being an Arthur C. Clark story, it’s a whole lot more than that.

My only quibble with 2061 – and 2010, actually – is it seemed to me that people generally took the discovery of new life too casually.

Now I’m 20% of the way into 3001: The Final Odyssey. It starts off with an “Oh, come on!” moment, I thought. I hope that’s not a sign of things to come. So far, though, it’s a fascinating story.

Leave a Reply

