A Thousand Year Sleep

3001: The Final Odyssey presents an interesting theory: A person from 2001 who wakes up in the year 3001 would have an easier time adjusting to cultural and technological changes than a person from 1001 who wakes up in the year 2001. I agree with this. When I presented this theory to Phillip, he strongly agreed with it, without hesitation. A few moments late, he added, “It is a little egocentric, though.”

According to the novel, a person from 2001 would know about electricity, and therefore would be used to the idea of things being powered by unseen forces. We don’t completely agree with that.

We think that it’s more likely that person from 2001 would be used to rapid technological changes within their lifetime, as well as processing a wider range of understanding about the world outside.

3001: The Final Odyssey started with something that had me thinking: “Oh, no way!” And it ended with something that had me thinking: “Oh, no way!” It’s not a bad novel, but I felt it was the weakest story of the series. It didn’t seem to contribute much to the overall story, other than to give it an ending. (And I’m not thrilled with the way it ended.)

As I was reading it, I had the feeling that I’d read certain passages before. Then, toward the end, I found entire chapters that were copied word for word from previous books. I don’t understand that. It’s shorter than the previous two novels, and it’s padded with clips from those previous stories.

One of the things I found curious about 2010, 2061, and 3001 is that no other HAL 9000-series computers show up in any of the various space ships. Was HAL a one-of-a-kind experiment?  (Yes, there’s the SAL 9000 computer back on earth, but it seemed to exist in order to check on Hal.) It was a pretty awesome computer. It wasn’t Hal’s fault he had bad programming.

The 2001 series was enjoyable, right up to a poor ending.

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Year Sleep

  1. Very ego-centric, I think. But, someone from 1001 would have probably assumed that nothing much would change in 1000 years, either.

    Humans. They are, indeed, “all that.”

Leave a Reply

