Resting And Reading

I called in sick this morning – mistakenly calling today “Tuesday” in my phone message – and spent the day resting and reading.

I alternated between reading Clockwork Angels, by Kevin J. Anderson and Cold Comfort Farm, by Stella Gibbons. The former is a free eBook and the latter is a borrowed library book. I’m happily in the neutral zone of the book-versus-eBook debate.

I took little naps in-between reading sessions.

In the middle of the day, I started a load of laundry. Then I took a walk to one of our neighborhood grocery stores for a liter-bottle of Coca-Cola. (I’ve been cutting back on my soft drink consumption lately, but empty sugary calories sounded good.)

When my laundry was done, I folded it, put it away, and then uploaded a photo I took on my way to the grocery store to my other blog. Then I resumed my reading.

Late in the afternoon, I fell asleep and didn’t wake up until Phillip got home.

Clockwork Angels came from Kobo, which means it takes advantage of some interesting, if maybe not useful, features on my Kobo Mini. It displays, as a percentage, how far I’ve progressed through the book. I’ve recently discovered that I can click on that percentage and find out how far I am into the chapter, how long it’s going to take me to finish the chapter, how long it’s going to take me to read the next chapter, and how long it’s going to take me to finish the book. I’m not sure why I need to know all that, but it’s interesting in a geeky sort of way.

I finished Clockwork Angels today. (I didn’t check to see how close my Kobo Mini’s estimate was.)  I wouldn’t call it a great novel, but it was an enjoyable one. Early on in the story, it seemed obvious how it would conclude. I was prepared to write something like, “I saw the ending coming, but I enjoyed getting there.” But the story didn’t end in the way I thought it would.

Clockwork Angels is the novelization of a Rush album by the same name. (The lyrics to every song on the album are included in the afterword.) The story has elements of steampunk, but it’s not an alternate history story. At times, it reminded me of The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho, more for the soul-searching adventure than for the elements of alchemy. At times, it reminded me of Candide, by Voltaire. (Candide was mentioned as an inspiration in the afterword.)

It does quite well at setting up a fictional world. I could easily imagine a sequel or two.

Leave a Reply

