Yet Another Sign That I Am Old (Or, At Least, Behind The Times)

As the 47 took me past The Paramont this morning, I saw on the marque that Kraftwerk would be playing there in July. Wow, I thought to myself, I would love to see that. I have been to very few concerts, and I knew they’re expensive, but it might be worth a splurge. I’m sure Phillip would love to see Kraftwerk live, too.

Kraftwerk is a classic band – the “godfathers of techno” – but, I imagine, suitable for eclectic tastes. They haven’t released a studio album in over ten years. Phillip and Craig are the only people I know who still talk about them. Really, I thought, how expensive could tickets be? Forty or fifty bucks apiece?

I don’t remember how much I paid for my ticket to see Billy Bragg the April before last. It was so reasonable it wasn’t even worth thinking about the cost. And he’d just released a new album. Then again, it was small venue – more of a show than a concert.

I checked on the tickets when I got to my desk. There were two cheap tickets left in the back of the mezzanine, at $69 each. That was too much. From there, the tickets went from $90 to almost $500. This is for a band that hasn’t released an album in over ten years.

We’ve seen operas for a whole lot less.

I am out of touch. How do people afford to go to a concert these days?

 

6 thoughts on “Yet Another Sign That I Am Old (Or, At Least, Behind The Times)

Leave a Reply

