To The Market

Yesterday, I read in a Facebook post that The Seattle Public Library would a have a booth at The Capitol Hill Farmers’ Market, with cook books you could check out, as well as cooking demonstrations.

“What a great idea,” I thought. It wasn’t something I was interested in, but I was happy that the library was doing that for those who were interested. I love our library.

Then I thought, “We hadn’t been to the farmers’ market in a long time.” Phillip and I weren’t sure if we were going to go out anywhere before the burlesque show. So, I suggested that we go to “The Farmers’ Market.” Fortunately, Phillip checked to make sure I meant The University District Farmers’ Market. He remembered, and I hadn’t, that The Capitol Hill Farmers’ Market is only on Sundays.

We didn’t go to The University District Farmers’ Market yesterday.

I woke up this morning at 8:30, and discovered that Phillip had turned the alarm off last night. That isn’t something we usually do on weekends, because we’re afraid we’ll forget to turn it back on Sunday night. We used to leave the alarm on all the time, because our sugar gliders didn’t take the weekends off. (I found out later that Phillip had turned the alarm off because he’d been unable to sleep and hadn’t gotten to bed until 4:30.)

I turned the alarm back on and got up. I somehow found interesting things on the internet for the next three hours.

Phillip got up and said he’d be ready to go in five minutes. It took me about twenty minutes to log off and get ready.

We walked to the farmers’ market, past the p-patch, where someone had placed a plastic horse on the lawn for reasons unknown, taking the back streets to avoid construction sites.

We bought some cherries, a bottle of cider, some Greek yogurt, and a half-dozen pretzel balls at the market.

We circled back along Broadway, had lunch at Blue Moon Burgers, and I took a long nap this afternoon.

It’s been a good, lazy day.

Leave a Reply

