Was It July 4th?

We had no plans for the Fourth of July¹, and that turned out to be a good thing.

I was up until 12:30 Thursday night, launching stuff into orbit. I slept until 9:30 Friday morning. That seemed like it should have been enough sleep, but I felt groggy all morning.

I suggested lunch at Ada’s Technical Books and Café – we’d never eaten there, and we hadn’t been to Ada’s since they moved to 15th Ave. Phillip agreed to that. I checked the web site to be sure they were open on the 4th of July. Nothing said they weren’t.

We drove there, and found a parking space on Mercer, between 13th and 14th. As we walked past Olympia Pizza III, Phillip commented, “You know, we should go there sometime when it’s not Dine Out for Life. We make a point to patronize all the other places. It’s the right thing to do, of course.”

We got to Ada’s. They were closed on the 4th of July. We discussed second choices. I suggested Olympia Pizza. We ordered almost the same thing: Greek Spaghetti and a green salad with bleu cheese dressing. Phillip added sausage to his spaghetti. I had a root beer, and Phillip had a Diet Dr Pepper.

I was still groggy. I just couldn’t wake up. The first clue that something was wrong was that I was gulping down glasses of water.

On our way back home, we stopped into QFC for some grocery shopping.

I had planned on cleaning out the freezer (OK, so we did have plans) but I was feeling too tired. Eventually, I developed a headache. I hadn’t had any coffee – but it was too soon for caffeine withdrawal. I took a nap, asking Phillip to get me up in an hour.

An hour later, Phillip woke me up. I chose to keep sleeping. I slept until late in the evening. After I got up, Phillip took a nap – which is not unusual for him – asking me to wake him up at nine.

At nine o’clock, I woke Phillip up, and I went to bed. I don’t know if Phillip got up or not. I think I slept through the night, missing all the fireworks.

I definitely came down with something. I woke up at 8:00, feeling much better.

Today, we had coffee from Top Pot. I cleaned the freezer, and Phillip is cleaning the bathtub.

It’s been an exciting Fourth around our house, so far.

¹We generally avoid such crowds in hot weather.

Leave a Reply

