Tuesday Night At The Movies

I’d been having an upset stomach all day Tuesday. I considered going home sick, but we had plans to see a movie with Shaylee and Snowie, and it sounded like fun.

At Sunday’s NorWesCon picnic, there were free passes to a preview showing of Lucy at Pacific Place Tuesday night. Phillip and I picked up one. (Each pass admitted two.)

The movie started at 7:00, but I went there directly after work, making a reverse of my morning commute. I boarded a bus at Pioneer Square Station and rode to Westlake Station, where I had a one-block walk to the theater. Shaylee was already there, with another guy (I’m sorry, sir, I never did catch your name), fairly close to the beginning of the line.

As is the case with free movie previews, it was on a first-come, first-served basis. It looked certain that we were going to get in, but we still had over two hours of waiting ahead of us. I was not feeling well, and I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it to the end of the movie – or even the beginning.

Phillip stopped off at home after work, and caught a 47 to Westlake, and joined us in line. He wanted to go get something to eat, but I wasn’t feeling up to it. So, he and Shaylee walked over to Johnny Rocket’s. While they were having dinner, Snowie arrived.

Two hours of waiting in line passed quickly, thanks to the friends we were with. The two people in line behind us frequently joined in our conversations.

There was a slight bit of tension whenever we looked over at the very large group from Events and Adventures, which, we’d heard, had priority seating. But we did get in. We even got five seats together. Phillip even got his preferred aisle seat.

I am a huge fan of Luc Besson films, and all the creativity he puts into them, and Lucy did not disappoint. It’s not a movie you want to analyze too much, but it was a lot of fun (much like The Fifth Element).

Phillip and I caught a 49 bus home. As we walked from the bus stop last night, I’d already made up my mind that I was going to call in sick today. And I did.

Leave a Reply

