Belt Hunting On Broadway

Until we saw the Queer Geek event posted yesterday on Facebook, Phillip and I had no fun plans this weekend. (We did have plans, however – stuff like laundry, dishes, and cleaning.) The event was board gaming at Phoenix Comics at 3:00 today. We agreed that it sounded like fun. We accepted the invitation.

A little after 2:00, Phillip checked the event page, The event was at 1:00 – not 3.  We were still invited, but we agreed that by the time we got there, the event would have been going on for an hour and a half, and most people would be leaving. So, we went to lunch.

I suggested Pinto Bistro. When I worked in Cascade, it was a favorite delivery lunch for our little group. I’d never been to the restaurant, even though it’s right up on Broadway. Phillip had never eaten at Pinto Bistro at all.

We ordered exactly the same thing: Cashew Nut, with chicken, three stars, and a side of brown rice.

After a delicious lunch, we went shopping. Phillip needed a belt, and I’ve been wanting a USB splitter. Phillip had looked for belts before at Metro, but they weren’t the generic style he was looking for.

Our first stop was Red Light. Phillip looked through the belts they had, but didn’t find what he was looking for.

Our next stop was Office Max. On our way there, I explained to Phillip that I’d already found what I was looking for on Amazon.com, but I was hoping to find something at Office Max. I explained that, although Office Max is not at local business, it is a Broadway business, and I wanted to help out the Broadway merchants.

It was the second time I’d been to the Office Max on Broadway, and the second time I didn’t find what I was looking for.

Our next stop was Mishu. They don’t carry belts at all. The woman at the counter told us that there had been several people stopping by, looking for belts today.

Our next stop was Urban Outfitters. They might have a USB splitter, and they’d certainly have belts. Phillip pointed out: Any place that sells pants will sell belts. (Then again, Mishu sells pants.) No USB splitters, and no belts.

Our next stop was QFC, for some grocery shopping. I found a USB splitter there, sort of. It was actually a digital card reader with four USB slots. The sales person told us: “It doesn’t have enough power to charge anything, but it should work for data transfer.” That should have raised a red flag with me. It wasn’t what I was looking for, but I bought it anyway.

The problem is: The old laptop has four USB ports. At the time I bought it, that seemed extravagant. Now, one port is barely working. The other three have the following plugged into them: a mouse, a wireless modem, and a keyboard. (The T key on the laptop keyboard is broken.) If I want to plug in my iPod or my eReader, I need to unplug something – usually the mouse, and then I use the touchpad. Thus, the desire for a USB splitter.

The USB splitter from QFC doesn’t work with either the mouse or the keyboard – not enough power, I’m guessing. But it is a handy card reader, so I decided to hang onto it.

I ordered the USB splitter from Amazon.com.

 

4 thoughts on “Belt Hunting On Broadway

Leave a Reply

