A Little Work, A Little Play

What did we do this weekend? We voted. We ate hamburgers. I played Diablo III and Kerbal Space Program. Phillip played Marvel Heroes. We cleaned. We avoided Seafair.

My first free issue of One Story arrived on Friday. I read it on Saturday. The story was Astonish Me, by Maggie Shipstead. It was pretty good. I didn’t understand the ending (which is not necessarily a bad thing). I haven’t decided if I’m going to subscribe or not.

We went shopping at the Fred Meyer in Ballard today. It was trip mainly to get out of the hot apartment and into an air-conditioned car. It was also a serious shopping trip for food and housewares. (Phillip bought a belt!)

Last night, we went to a Queer Geek event at The Eagle. I’d never been to The Eagle, even though it’s been in Seattle longer than I have. (It’s really not my kind of crowd, from what I’d heard: a bears and leather pickup bar.) Phillip tells me he’d been there once or twice, with friends. (It’s not his kind of crowd, either.)

I had mixed feelings about going last night. I was a little leery of the bar, and a little more leery of trying to find a parking space nearby. If Phillip decided against going, I wouldn’t have been disappointed.

When the time came for us to leave, I grabbed the car key and the garage door opener. Phillip and I rode the elevator down. I was surprised to see the elevator doors open at the first floor, instead of the garage, and to see Phillip walking toward the apartment building’s front door.

“Where are we going?” I asked. “The Eagle,” answered Phillip, sounding confused.

We hadn’t talked about how we were getting there. I had assumed that Phillip wouldn’t want to walk the mile and a half to the bar. Phillip assumed that driving a mile and a half wouldn’t be worth it. I went back upstairs and put away the key and garage door opener.

We did check the 47 schedule along the way. We’d missed a 47 by about 10 minutes, and would have a 20 minute wait for the next one. We kept walking.

The Eagle was what I expected, but not as scary as I was expecting. I’d go back there again. The Queer Geek event wasn’t what I expected, but I had a good time.

We’d talked about trying to get a bus home afterwards, but thanks to Metro’s stupid plan to eliminate bus stops to try to keep buses on schedule, the first bus stop we came to was halfway home. We kept walking.

I am tired of this heat wave.

Leave a Reply

