Distracted By An Email Message

Human Resources sent me an email this morning, in reply to that position I applied for last Thursday. I have an interview scheduled for tomorrow morning.

It distracted me for the remainder of the day.

It’s odd that I should feel any nervousness about this upcoming interview. I know, and like, everyone who will be interviewing me. It’s a position I don’t need, and one that I’m not certain I want. And yet I do feel nervous. It is a job interview, and I want to do it right.

During a break today, I turned to my blog to see what impressions I had of my present job back when it started,  over two years ago. Along the way, I ran across a review of my three favorite films, back then. I’m rather pleased with what I wrote.

Meanwhile, whatever wave of anarchy took over Third Avenue last week was gone this afternoon. Drivers, for the most part, were back to obeying the signs.

There was one driver who turned right onto Third, got into the left lane, and, I’m guessing, suddenly saw the “Do Not Enter” and “No Left Turn” signs at the next intersection. Unsure of what to do, they stopped at the intersection, with the light green, and buses honking at them. As our bus passed them, they had their right tun signal on.

I’m not sure what I would do in their situation. There was no way to avoid breaking a law, so which one do you break: A prohibited left turn, proceed past the “Do Not Enter” sign, or a right turn from the left lane?

4 thoughts on “Distracted By An Email Message

Leave a Reply

