Three Birthdays

Today is our friend Craig’s birthday. I wish he lived closer to us than he does.

It’s also my ex-wife’s birthday. We’re friendly with each other, have nice chats when we randomly cross paths, but we have no regular contact with each other.

I checked my personal email at lunch today. I don’t know why. It’s not something I typically do. I found an announcement from Phillip’s brother. Phillip and I have a new nephew. He was born this morning. I now know three people who have birthdays today.

Coincidentally, Phillip had a doctor’s appointment in the same building, two floors down, and two hours after my nephew was born. Phillip didn’t know it at the time.

I sent an email to Phillip, who hadn’t heard the news yet. Phillip contacted his brother, and it was OK for us to visit tonight. Phillip emailed me, to ask me to think of someplace we could buy a stuffed animal as a birthday present.

I emailed Phillip back and asked if he wanted me to find something Downtown before I came home. Phillip liked that idea.

Without doing an internet search, I knew of only two places to buy toys: the FAO Schwarz in Macy’s, and Target. An internet search told me those were my only two choices. (I didn’t quite believe that, but I didn’t want to spend too much time browsing around Downtown.)

Phillip had two other choices: The library gift shop, and the art museum gift shop.

I stopped into the library gift shop. The only thing they had for a newborn was an official library onesie. I liked it, but I was looking for a stuffed animal. I moved on to FAO Schwarz.

Either the internet or the salesperson was wrong, but the FAO Schwarz appeared to be no longer in Macy’s. I was disappointed. I was hoping for a cool stuffed bunny.

I found an awesome, giant stuffed Mickey Mouse – the classic one – in Target.

Our beautiful 12-hour-old nephew is doing fine. Mom and Dad are doing fine as well.