Swimming Rama – Yum!

I covered on First Hill this morning. I really wasn’t in the mood for it. I won’t go into the reasons – I just wasn’t into it.

I caught the 60 there, of course.

Usually, when I cover on First Hill or in the U District, I’m back to my desk Downtown before lunch – even if lunch is a little late. Today, however, work ran late, and it was already past my normal lunch time when I finished. So I decided to eat lunch on the hill before walking down to Downtown.

But where should I eat? There aren’t many choices on First Hill. There’s Blue Water Taco Grill, but it was a little out of my way. There’s a McDonald’s (no, thanks). There’s the cafe at The Frye Art Museum – frankly, it’s too expensive for what you get. Subway was a possibility, but I wasn’t in the mood for it.

I went to the medical center cafeteria. The food there is so good that it breaks the stereotype of hospital food. The food quality rivals some restaurants.

I had a plate of delicious Swimming Rama, with a can of Peace Tea. It improved my mood considerably.

Meanwhile, I’m continuing to push my way through The Jesus Incident. I realized today that I’ve lost the plot at some point, and wasn’t entirely sure what was going on anymore. I turned to Wikipedia, to read the story synopsis, up to where I was in the book. That helped a lot. While I was at Wikipedia, I discovered why I’m having trouble following the story: It’s the second book in a trilogy, and picks up where the first book ended.

Here’s another interesting thing about The Jesus Incident: It takes place on a planet named Pandora, which is full of deadly animals. It was the inspiration for the movie Avatar.

In the 47 bus I rode home in this evening, there was one of those overhead signs warning you against buying counterfeit bus passes. It has this hilarious, shadowy figure saying, “Psst… Wanna buy a pass, cheap?” I see these signs in a lot of buses.

I wonder, though: Is there really a market for counterfeit ORCA cards? Do people buy them off the street very often? If people do buy them, do they just trust that there’s any money on the card?

Leave a Reply

