Halloween Weirdness

I figured I’d stop off at my storage unit, and pay rent, on my way home this evening. The storage unit’s a block and a half’s walk from a stop on the 43. Then it’s a short walk home.

I got to Pike Street, and a 43 bus arrived a few minutes later. There was a massive crowd moving its way into the bus. I took my place in the crowd.

I looked up at the bus sign and realized I was about to get on a 49. It’s unusual for me board the wrong bus. Well, I thought, it’s a longer walk from the 49 to the storage unit, but it’ll still get me there. As I got closer to the door, I decided to walk away. The bus was going to be jam-packed by the time I get on. I might as well wait for a 43, I thought.

Sure enough, a 43 arrived a few minutes later. I got on and found a seat. A few people had to stand.

We turned from Pike onto Bellevue Avenue.

Then the bus turned onto Pine Street. It’s not supposed to do that. Was there a re-route?

I looked up at the “Next Stop” sign. I was on a 49. I’d boarded the wrong bus again.

Halloween is messing with my mind.

Leave a Reply

