What It Is I Do

In this blog, I am purposely vague about the nature of my job and who it is I work for. I do this out of respect for my employer. There’s nothing special about my job – I’m fond of saying that anyone can learn to do it, but I’m not sure many people would want to do it. My job is unique, however – even within the company.

I have trouble explaining to people what it is I do, even when I’m not trying to be vague. Like I said, it is unique. In the latest census survey, the closest category I could fit my job into was “Service”.

I like my job.

I’ve been doing this job for over two years, and it is constantly changing. I see that as a good thing. It keeps expanding, and I think that’s a sign that my employer is pleased with me.

I describe the nature of my job as analog – pen and paper in a room full of computers. That may be changing. I started an experiment today that may change my analog job to digital. The question I’m charged with answering is: Will it speed up my job or slow it down?

If my job turns digital, it may be the end of listening to Tiny Desk Concerts while I work.

I filled in on First Hill today, and will continue to fill in until Monday. I came up with a plan, on my own, that will allow me to fill in at both First Hill and the University District, at the same time, on Monday. My boss gave me a high-five for that.

I got back from First Hill a little before noon today, and right away, my boss and I set up the basics for this digital experiment. Then I had a late lunch. Then a time-critical side project landed on my desk.

I experienced an extremely rare moment of stress at my job, with trying to start the digital experiment (which seems daunting) and getting that side project done, and squeezing it all into the few remaining hours of the day. But I focused on the task at hand, ignored any thoughts of the future, and got done what I could get done.

And it worked out just fine. I was exhausted at the end of the day, however.

Leave a Reply

