And A Third

When we got home from Colin’s birthday party yesterday evening, I had plenty of time, and enough energy, to write a blog post about it. I just wasn’t motivated to write. I’m not sure why.

I had my camera in my coat pocket when we went to Everett on Saturday (movie day with Kelly) and when we went to Lake City on Sunday (Colin’s birthday party). I had time before both events to get out of our apartment and snap a photo or two for my other blog. But, somehow, I went through the entire weekend without any photography.

Colin’s party was terrific. There were nine or ten of us, all guys, plus a full-sized Christmas tree, crammed into Colin and Sam’s apartment. (Space-wise, it was the opposite of Snowie’s big empty apartment, with all of us gathered around the only table.) We watched a marathon of “Epic Rap Battles of History”, played Cards Against Humanity, ate pizza, and had some fascinating conversations.

I promised myself that I was not going to let today get by without a photo for my other blog. As our 43 approached Westlake Station, I saw that terrific neon sign advertising phở, complete with a picture of a bowl of phở, around the corner from the bus stop, that I’ve been meaning to photograph. There’s something old-fashioned and friendly about that bright neon sign in that tiny restaurant.

So, when I stepped off the bus, I crossed the street and snapped that photo. I think it came out rather nicely. Then, as I was about to go back to Westlake Station, I suddenly decided it was a good morning to walk the rest of the way to work. So I did.

As I walked along, I thought ahead to the construction sites, and I mentally planned how I’d detour around the closed sidewalks. I continued walking, expecting to see the library pop up at any moment. Then I remembered I was walking down 6th Avenue, not 5th.

6th Avenue was actually better for me, even though I didn’t get to see the library. I bypassed all the construction detours. I walked into The Bank of America Building, through the underground pedestrian tunnel, through Columbia Center, and on to my office.

2 thoughts on “And A Third

Leave a Reply

