I Went To The University District And Picked Up “Girls”

Phillip drove to a NorWesCon meeting this morning. Soon after he left, I boarded a 49 bus to the U District. I had that $50 gift certificate to The University Bookstore that Phillip gave me for Christmas, and the bookstore was having a store-wide sale today. I had no idea what I was going to buy.

I probably spent an hour browsing every section of the store. Was I going to buy some fiction, non-fiction, or something that’s not a book? There were several sections that I visited multiple times.

Eventually, I got in line at the cashier with four books in my arms: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, and Gone Girl. I’ve read the first three a long time ago, and have seen both versions of the movies, and they’re among my favorite novels. I’ve seen the movie version of Gone Girl, and I’ve heard the book is better.

At some point, it occurred to me that all four books have the word “Girl” in the title.

Three of the books were priced at $9.99, and one was $14.99. I figured I was lucky to get so close to $50. I forgot to factor in the store-wide sale, however, and I now have around $13 left on the gift certificate.

After the bookstore, I had a Sofritas Burrito at Chipotle for lunch. There are a lot of funky little “Mom & Pop” restaurants in the U District, but I was in the mood for Chipotle.

After lunch, I walked up to the bus stop on 45th, where a 43 bus had just arrived.

I read the first few pages of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, which happened to be the top book in the shopping bag, on the bus ride home.

5 thoughts on “I Went To The University District And Picked Up “Girls”

  1. I had problems with the written form of the Millenium Trilogy–Larsson got in the way a bit too much for me–but we still gobbled them up like candy. But I’m with you on trips to brick-and-mortar stores: I really enjoy surprising myself by just browsing the tables and stacks.

Leave a Reply

