Unidentified Sounds

I called in sick this morning. Then I set the alarm on my cell phone and went back to sleep.

I woke up to the sound of my cell phone’s alarm. Then I got Phillip up and off to work. Then I went back to sleep. I didn’t sleep long.

I got up and played some The Sims 2. Then I downloaded some songs by The Bird and the Bee – a band I’m just now discovering, even though they’ve been around since 2006. (Thank you to Brian for introducing me to the song “Witch” a month or two ago.) I uploaded the songs to my iPod. Then I updated iTunes, and read some more of Peril in Paperback, by Kate Carlisle, while that long upload progressed.

When iTunes finished upgrading, and I was convinced that it was still working, I took Peril in Paperback to bed. I continued reading until I couldn’t stay awake. I put the book aside and went to sleep.

I woke up to a sound I couldn’t identify. It kept going for several seconds. I finally realized it was my cell phone ringing. I’d had trouble recognizing it because, not only was I half-asleep, the phone was set on its “Normal” ringtone – these days, it’s either on “Outdoor” (commuting to or from work), “Silent” (at work), or off (at home). It was Phillip calling. He was at the grocery store, and did I need anything? I did not. I went back to sleep.

I woke up to a sound I couldn’t identify. It sounded only once, and briefly. I wasn’t sure, at first, that I’d actually heard it. Then I’d realized it was our apartment building intercom – something that’s hardly ever used, except when we’ve ordered pizza. It was Phillip. He’d left his keys at work.

Tonight, Phillip and I watched Muppets Take Manhattan, one of the movies Phillip bought while we did laundry. I wasn’t going to say it, but Phillip said it first: The movie is not as good as either of us were remembering.

Leave a Reply

