Movies And Pancakes

Whatever this is that I’ve come down with, it’s wiping me out. I’m tired all the time.

I woke up early this morning, somewhere around 7, and couldn’t get back to sleep. So I got up and played some The Sims 2. Around 8 or so, Phillip got up, unusually early for him, said something like, “You’re up early for a weekend,” and went back to bed. I went back to bed shortly after that. When I woke up again, it was 10:30, and Phillip was up. So I got up.

There were several things I wanted to do today, but I just didn’t have the energy. Phillip asked me what I wanted to do about lunch, but I realized that I didn’t have an appetite.

One of the things we needed to do was return Galaxy Quest. So, we went to Scarecrow Video, with Phillip driving. We ended up spending a lot of time at Scarecrow, browsing their enormous collection – and we didn’t even get upstairs. I ended up buying Prometheus on DVD. Phillip ended up renting a DVD of House at the End of Time.

Phillip asked me, again, what I wanted to do about lunch. I realized that I should eat something. I suggested something mild – not spicy. Phillip suggested IHOP, and that sounded perfect.

As Phillip drove from the U District to First Hill, we listed all the great restaurants we have available to us.

The IHOP on Madison Street is a fun place to eat. The staff is always friendly. The people watching is fascinating. The customers span many different cultures and age groups. (Late Sunday morning is a great time to be in that IHOP, when all the various church services in the area have just ended.)

We went home after lunch and watched Horns (borrowed from Netflix). Horns was a fun movie, in a gory, horrific, black comedy, Biblical sort of way. Daniel Radcliffe stars as “Ig” Parrish, whose life is turned upside down (with great visual metaphor) after the love of his life is murdered, and his small Pacific Northwest town is convinced that he’s gotten away with murder. Ig turns to the dark side, literally growing horns, and uses his new demonic powers to uncover the real murderer. (He drives a Gremlin – ha ha!) Along the way, he uncovers the town’s underlying level of sin.

Tomorrow is going to be a busy day. I hope I’m up for it.

4 thoughts on “Movies And Pancakes

Leave a Reply

