On Foot

Yesterday, on my way to work, I exited the 43 at Westlake Station, as I do every morning. Then, on a whim, I decided to forego the tunnel station and walk down 5th Avenue. It was a pleasant way to get to work. Oddly, most people on the sidewalk were walking south, like me. (Few people walking north – why was that?) Along the way, I glanced into the windows of shops not yet open. The song “For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her”, by Simon and Garfunkel, popped into my head: “I wandered empty streets down / Past the shop displays”. I didn’t hear cathedral bells, however.

Last night, I couldn’t think of anything to write about that walk – or anything else, either. I was thinking about that walk today, however.

I rode the 49 with Phillip to the U District this morning. I had a nice, early morning walk across the empty university campus.

(I’ve decided to suggest to my supervisor that I no longer go to the U District on Fridays. The little bit of work there is left to do there just isn’t worth having me travel across town, and can wait until the regular guy comes in on Monday.)

After my short stay in the U District, I rode the employee shuttle to First Hill. I stopped into Diva Espresso for a Generra (mocha with orange zest), and took it with me as I walked down the hill to Downtown. Halfway down the hill, I stopped to photograph the Diva Espresso cup for the “latte” sub-series on my other blog. I debated whether I should call the photograph “Latte” or “Generra”. “Latte” would fit the series better, and make it show up if anyone searched the blog for it, but it wouldn’t be accurate. Ultimately, I named it “Latte“.

As I continued my walk down the hill, I thought about how I enjoy walking. I remembered serving jury duty, years ago, when the judge asked each of the candidates what they like to do for fun. When my term came, I answered “urban hiking”. The judge asked me what that means, and I said it’s walking around a city for the fun of it. I don’t know if “urban hiking” is really a thing or if I made it up.

(I’ve served jury duty several times, but have never wound up on a jury.)

When I got to work, a coworker asked how the weather was. I replied that it was nice outside. My coworker said, “Really?”, and I said, “Well, it’s drizzly outside, but it’s not raining hard, and it’s not too cold and not too hot. It’s nice.” My coworker replied, “Ah! So, it’s a nice ‘Northwest’ kind of day.”

Those boots that I bought at REI two months ago are comfortable, and they give my feet good support when I walk. But, a couple of weeks after I bought them, they started squeaking, and they’ve been squeaking ever since. I find it annoying, especially when I’m inside a building. I wonder if there’s a way to “de-squeak” a pair of boots.

I haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution this year, but I think I should make an effort to walk more often.

3 thoughts on “On Foot

Leave a Reply

