“Unscheduled Emergency Repairs”

I don’t mean this is in a mean-spirited way, only as a gentle ribbing to a person unknown to me, but an email today from our office building’s management made me chuckle. It contained this sentence:

“Building maintenance will be conducting unscheduled emergency repairs this Saturday at 6:00 a.m.”

Meanwhile, I’m nearing the end of Peril in Paperback, by Kate Carlisle – the book Brian and Kathi gave me. I’m enjoying it. It’s been a long time since I last read a good old-fashioned “murder in a house full of guests during a snowstorm that’s preventing the police from getting there right away” mystery novel. (I say “old-fashioned” even though the book was published in 2012.)

I can’t wait to find out who the murderer is, but I know I’m going to feel empty when it’s over. But Peril in Paperback is just one in a series of “Bibliophile Mysteries”, which includes Homicide in Hardcover, Murder Under Cover, If Books Could Kill, The Lies That Bind, and One Book in the Grave.

Meanwhile, I was waiting for the bus this evening when I saw a young woman walking up to people, asking if they wanted to buy a copy of Real Change. She wasn’t wearing a vendor’s badge, and she had only one copy of the newspaper. I remembered the time I, in a lapse of attention, bought a paper for just such a scammer. I still feel guilty about that. I’m going to feel guilty about that for a while. I was glad to see that no one was buying her paper, and she moved on.

I felt a small bit of redemption a minute or two later, when an actual Real Change vendor – with a badge and a stack of newspapers – walked past me. He didn’t seem to be selling at the time. He seemed to be on his way somewhere. I got his attention anyway, called him over, and bought the latest issue of Real Change.

Leave a Reply

