Elation And Anger

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee, is my favorite novel. It is a beautiful tale of human dignity.

My tastes change from time to time, and One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel García Márquez, jumps to the top of my favorites. But I have to admit that To Kill a Mockingbird is more accessible, and it is about my culture. (I’ve actually seen restaurants with “Whites Only” signs in the window.)

I also think that the film To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the best film adaptations ever. (My mother, who grew up in Alabama, admires that Gregory Peck didn’t even try to fake a southern accent.)

So, of course, I was elated to learn, via Facebook, that Harper Lee’s first novel, Go Set a Watchman, has been discovered, after 50+ years, and will be published this summer. (Actually, Phillip alerted me to this news.) It made my morning.

Then, of course, the trash-talkers swooped in – trashing this new novel, the reasons behind its publications, To Kill a Mockingbird, and even Harper Lee herself. (From time to time, I think I should ditch Facebook.) I should have expected it. It’s always cool to trash anything popular – it shows that you think for yourself, and you’re not one to jump on the bandwagon.

The truth is, this trash-talking made me angry. I know that no one can make you angry, but I was angry. It ruined the rest of my day. I wish I can just ignore the negativity.

But, you know what, I’m placing my order for Go Set a Watchman as soon as I can.

9 thoughts on “Elation And Anger

Leave a Reply

