The Answer Was Right There

Monday, I wrote that I’d noticed that the Pronto bike-sharing station at Bellevue and Pine was gone and that I couldn’t find out why.

Yesterday, on my bus ride home, I got a rather good clue to solving the mystery: That section of street had been blocked off and a piece of construction equipment was parked there. I had meant to post that yesterday, but I was upset by the accusations on Facebook that To Kill a Mockingbird is racist, which I found to be racist in itself, and so I forgot to post it.

(I won’t give too much space to this accusation, but basically it says that since a white lawyer is the hero for trying to save a black man, the book is racist.)

Today, I confirmed the answer in the one place I had forgotten to look on Monday: Pronto’s Facebook page. Yes, the removal of the bike station is temporary, because of construction, and will return in about a week.

Toward the end of the day today, I almost wished a coworker a good weekend. Then, a little later, I almost wished another coworker a good weekend. After that second time, I wondered why. Then I realized that today felt like a Friday. Then I remembered that today was like a Friday, but instead of starting my day on a 49 to the U District, I started today on a 60 to First Hill.

I got to the bus stop on Broadway this morning and checked OneBusAway. A 60 was due in 11 minutes, and a 9 was due in 13 minutes. (I really do wish Metro would space its buses out better.) As I waited for the bus, I looked up from my book and saw a woman parking a car2go across the street. It wouldn’t have been worth it to take the car after her, but the thought did cross my mind.

The woman parked the car2go in a spot that gave me a perfect view of the card reader in the windshield. I saw the LED light up solid red as she waited for the end signal to be received. The card reader display lit up when the signal was found. The woman got out and walked away, obviously opting for car2go’s new automatic trip end (rather than the original end-with-your-card option, which is still available). The LED in the card began blinking green. I was fascinated to see just how long a car2go would remain available on Broadway.

The car2go didn’t remain available for more than a couple of minutes. The LED began blinking orange. Someone had reserved it. Not long after that, the next driver appeared. She had her card in her hand as she approached the car. She looked closely at the card reader display and then walked back in the direction she’d come from. She wasn’t the one who had reserved the car – just someone hoping to snag a random car2go.

The 60 arrived before I had a chance to see the car2go get driven away. I got to First Hill with enough time to stop into the medical center’s cafeteria for a delicious serving of biscuits and gravy to go.

This afternoon, as I was working away at my desk Downtown, I had a browser window open with YouTube videos of NPR’s Tiny Desk concerts. After one concert ended, YouTube offered “related” suggestions, as it always does. One suggestion was something unusual and unexpected: An audio chapter from To Kill a Mockingbird. (Obviously, my browser remembered me looking up the novel on Wikipedia yesterday.) So, I enjoyed listening to a very good reading of a random chapter from To Kill a Mockingbird as I worked. (Jem tells Scout how he’d found his britches, which he’d left tangled on the Radley’s barbed wire, mysteriously folded and patched when he’d snuck back to retrieve them.) Then, I listened to another chapter (Miss Maudie’s house burns down) and then another (Atticus is given the Robinson case). I’m guessing that I’d have to pay to hear the entire book – that’s fair. It was a nice change of pace from listening to music.

To Kill a Mockingbird is not racist.

Leave a Reply

