NWC Day 1

I’m up at 8 a.m. I’d been awake half the night, with a sore throat and a hacking cough. I got up to go to the bathroom, and Phillip took the opportunity to get some uninterrupted sleep. I let him sleep, and stay in the living room. It’s pouring rain outside. I feel like hell. I wonder if I can skip NorWesCon, even though I’ve already paid my registration.

I finish reading Sarah’s Key.

We were aiming for a 10:30 departure time, and that’s exactly what time we start backing out of our parking spot. A quick stop at QFC and Bartell’s, and we’re on the road.

We’ve been standing in the pre-registration line, to pick up my badge, for nearly 45 minutes, and the line isn’t moving. Phillip tells me that, because he’s a NorWesCon staff member, he gets to go to a shorter line. He leaves. I’m not having fun. The couple in line ahead of me make jokes about the automated map we’re standing in front of. I say the “You are here” star looks like Captain America’s shield. They think that’s funny. We look across the aisle, where the line has formed a U. There’s a guy wearing a Captain America t-shirt. The couple and I joke that the automated map is pointing out where that guy’s standing.

The line suddenly starts moving. I finally get my badge. I find a seat in the hotel lobby and send Phillip a text message: “I got my badge.” Phillip replies: “I’m still in line.”

I’ve been doing a lot of work, helping Phillip unload NorWesCon supplies from the car. I’m not a NorWesCon staff member, but I might as well be one today. I’m still not feeling well, I’m tired, and I’m cranky.

We finally get our hotel room. It’s on the first floor, with a nice view of the parking lot.

Phillip and I have lunch across the street, at Jack in the Box.

Phillip’s working, I’m on my own, and I haven’t seem much of the convention.

We have some fun things planned tonight: a banquet, some rum tasting, and a midnight movie.

One thought on “NWC Day 1

Leave a Reply

