Balance

Yesterday morning, as Phillip and I were riding the 49 to the U District, I received a text message. It was a coworker letting me know that she’d called in sick. I explained to Phillip that I was therefore covering for three people that day. I was on my way to the U District to cover for my coworker there. My coworker on First Hill also had the day off, so I was also covering for him. And I was the backup for the coworker who had sent me the text message. She works Downtown.

Three coworkers, three offices.

It wasn’t as bad as it sounded. I knew how to balance these tasks.

I was already on my way to the U District, so I was committed to going there.

I could do a few tasks for First Hill electronically. The tasks that required someone to be there physically could wait a day.

And I was backup for my Downtown coworker for really only one important, time-sensitive, task. I could triage anything else that came up.

I got through yesterday just fine. My Downtown coworker returned to work this morning. I was looking forward to catching up on my own tasks – which I’d put aside, somewhat, for all this coverage.

My boss called my into her office, the first thing this morning. My First Hill coworker was out again, so could I please go up the hill and cover there? Of course, I said I would, no problem, but I think it was obvious that I really didn’t want to. My boss said she appreciated me.

I returned to my desk. I put my iPod back into my bag. Fortunately, I hadn’t poured any coffee yet. I was about to log off of my computer when my boss called me back into her office.

She said she didn’t think my First Hill coworker would be back tomorrow, either. So it would make more sense if I went to First Hill after the U District tomorrow. I told her that would make me happier. “Well then, that’s what you should do,” was her response.

Ever since I mentioned The Time Tunnel in a previous blog post, I’ve been on an Irwin Allen kick. I’ve listened to the first two episodes of The Time Tunnel at work, and the pilot episode of Land of The Giants, and today, I listened to an episode of Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea. It’s really just background noise as I work. But even as background noise, those old shows were pretty bad.

Leave a Reply

