Glad I Checked

I never did get around to watching Barry Lyndon. Whenever I thought about it, I was either not in the mood to watch it, or I wasn’t at home to watch it. This afternoon, I realized I should watch it soon, like this weekend, since it’s probably due back any day now. I checked on the library web site. It’s due back June 5 – today. (Did I accidentally delete the reminder email?)

It had been on hold for so long that I knew the demand was too high for me to renew it. I decided to try anyway. I’d been right. There were too many holds. I couldn’t renew it.

I feel bad for hanging onto it, unwatched, for three weeks when there so many people were waiting for it.

I came home, dropped off my bag, picked up the DVD and walked to the library.

When I got home from the library, the library web site told me I’d recently returned Barry Lyndon, and I had no overdue fines. I think the internet is a perfect tool for public libraries.

Meanwhile, I’m slowly making my way through Plague Dogs, by Richard Adams. I’m liking it, but it’s a difficult book to read – not only for the depictions of animal torture, but for the human accents and the canine thought processes.

Plague Dogs is due back June 22, by the way.

One thought on “Glad I Checked

Leave a Reply

