New Music All Day!

My insatiable hunger for new music (new to me, that is) found an all-you-can-eat banquet today. In the middle of the morning, I stumbled upon NPR Music’s “Songs We Love 2015“.

This is a list of 199 songs, played in random order, covering just about every genre I could imagine – pop, classical, hip-hop, electronica, Americana (country), doom metal, and on and on – from all over the world, in many different languages. Once I started it, it was impossible to predict what was coming next. It was like an even more jumbled version of my iPod Shuffle.

A little notification in the lower right told me I had only 6 skips available. So, I had to choose my “dislikes” very carefully. There were songs, here and there, that I really wasn’t into, but at the end of the day, I still had 6 skips available. I heard only two or three songs I was familiar with.

So, how many songs can I listen to in a work day? With pauses for lunch, and breaks, and trips to the bathroom and to the coffee pot, it was 65 songs. I shut it down at the end of a Garth Brooks song I can’t remember the name of right now.

I jotted down the names of songs I want to give another listen to, and maybe add to my iPod playlist someday. Oddly, with a couple of exceptions, every song I wrote down was either a female performer or a band with a female lead singer.

2 thoughts on “New Music All Day!

Leave a Reply

