It Happens Sometimes

I’m afraid that, sometimes, a book just doesn’t sync with me. Such has been the case with The Plague Dogs, by Richard Adams. I know it’s a good book – this is the same author who wrote Watership Down, after all. But I just couldn’t get past the language – the Geordie dialect, and the canine manner of speaking. I got bogged down with trying to figure out just what the heck they were saying. I tried just skimming through the dialog and concentrating on the action, but that didn’t work.

I’ve become stuck at less than 200 pages into its 634 Large Print pages.

The final blow came when I checked on my account at The Seattle Public Library and saw that my hold on The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie, was finally available for download.

It uploaded it to my Kobo Mini this afternoon, and I’m now 12% of the way through its 180 ePages.

Phillip and I had dinner this evening at La Cocina y Cantina. Our walk up to Broadway took us past the library. I should have dropped The Plague Dogs into the book drop, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

2 thoughts on “It Happens Sometimes

Leave a Reply

