Books, Present And Future

So, I’m enjoying Us, by David Nicholls. It’s going slowly – I’m only a quarter of the way through it. It’s not thrilling me, but I do like it.

The book starts off with a marriage breaking up. The wife wants it to be over. The husband doesn’t. (It’s all told from the husband’s point of view, so far.) They’re scheduled to start a grand tour of Europe, before their teenage son goes off to college. The husband thinks they should postpone the trip until they get things worked out. The wife thinks they should go ahead with the trip.

That, and flashbacks about how they met each other, is pretty much all there is to the story, so far. If the book continues like this, that’s OK with me. It’s a well-written novel. If something big happens during their grand tour, that would be even better – or not. I’ll see how it goes.

Meanwhile, I have come to the horrible realization that I have never read A Wrinkle in Time, by  Madeleine L’Engle. I’m going to have to remedy that soon.

Leave a Reply

