Words And Pictures

Suddenly, Us, by David Nicholls, is getting very good. I find myself reading at bus stops, reading it when I get on the bus, and reading it during every other spare moment.

Douglas and Connie, and their son Albie, have traveled through The Chunnel and have settled into an awful hotel in Paris. (“Room 602 was clearly the result of a wager to determine the smallest space into which a double mattress can fit.”) Douglas doesn’t speak French very well, and tries to complain about the amount of public hair in the room. (“...I informed the desk clerk that I was destroyed but there were many strange horses in our salty bedroom...”) Albie has gone off to “do his own thing”, while Douglas and Connie have taken a walk around the city, reminiscing about past visits to Paris, while on the verge of bickering. It’s funny and tragic at the same time.

Meanwhile, on an impulse, I’ve purchased a copy of A Wrinkle in Time for my eReader. It’s there whenever I get around to it.

Meanwhile, my hold on Season Three of Gilmore Girls arrived at the library today. I considered asking Phillip to pick it up on his way home, since he bused to work today. But, ultimately, I decided that I was in the mood for a detour and picked it up myself.

Leave a Reply

