Going Underground

I finished The Unicorn Sonata, by Peter S. Beagle, last night. I loved it. I won’t say too much about it – it’s a short book, and saying too much might spoil some things. Basically, it’s the story of a teenage girl who finds a magic land, full of music and unicorns, just beyond the world she knows.

Meanwhile, PAX is going on at The Convention Center. The area is, of course, jammed with convention-goers. At first, emails from Metro Transit warned of service delays. Then, later in the day, emails alerted me to a reroute for all Capitol Hill-bound buses: From Pike Street, buses would turn onto 8th Avenue, then onto Pine Street, then buses would either continue up Pine or turn onto Bellevue, and continue their regular route. It wasn’t much of a reroute, and it still sent buses past The Convention Center, but there really isn’t much more Metro could have done in the area. Besides, the detour had trolley wires.

I knew I was in for a long commute home this evening. I was in no hurry. The emails from Metro weren’t much of a surprise. I didn’t expect the reroute, but I wasn’t surprised by it.

I had a plan, though, and it worked out perfectly.

From work, I walked over to the library and dropped off The Unicorn Sonata. Then I continued walking up 4th Avenue to Rainier Square. Then I went underground, through the pedestrian tunnel, to Union Square.

When I emerged above ground, I was between 6th and 7th Avenues. I walked up 7th to Pike. There was a 47 bus on Pike, but thanks to traffic, I was able to walk to the temporary stop on 8th before the bus arrived.

It wasn’t such a long commute, after all.

One thought on “Going Underground

Leave a Reply

