This Morning And This Weekend

The 47 was a few minutes late this morning. That’s unusual, since we’re the first stop on the route, after the terminus. (It was, however, the second time we’ve had one of the fancy, new trolleys, with the passenger activated rear doors and the lack of leg room, on the 47.)

I exited at Westlake Station, tapped my ORCA card, and went down the stairs to the platform. A Link train was closing its doors. I looked up at the clock. That was my train. The 47 had been later than I’d realized.

I tapped my ORCA card again, to “cancel” the trip, and then walked up to the front of the platform. Just as I got there, a 41 bus arrived. It took me to Pioneer Square Station, and I still had time for a bowl of oatmeal before work.

A leisurely, flexible commute continues to have its advantages.

Last Saturday night, Phillip and I saw a burlesque show called Star Trek: The Sexed Generation. Jaime and Bjorn, and their friend Ben, were there, too. Phillip and I were not able to get VIP tickets (sold out), so we weren’t able to sit with our friends. We were, however, able to chat before and after the show, as well as during intermission.

The show was very good. It was also unusual, compared to other burlesque shows I’d seen. Rather than individual acts, with an MC introducing each performer, The Sexed Generation was presented as a play, with a central story line, which would break into burlesque numbers. It was very funny, and well done.

Unfortunately, it was presented in The Annex Theater. I have nothing against the staff there – they did a terrific job. It’s the theater space I don’t like. There is no ventilation in the place. Audience members used their programs as fans to fight the heat. (The sight of all those fans waving reminded me of the old church services in The South.) Worse, though, is that the seating area is too low, and too flat, and the stage is not high enough. I learned, during intermission, that Phillip had missed most of the performances, because he couldn’t see around the person in front of him.

The second act was a little better for Phillip, he told me, because it used more of the sides of the stage. Still, he couldn’t see everything.

Meanwhile, I think I have Phillip hooked on The Sims 4. He asked for my help in creating a sim on Saturday, and taught him what I knew about the game. (It has a steep learning curve.) When I came home from Writers’ Group on Sunday, Phillip was busy playing The Sims 4. He’d created a roommate for his sim, and had created careers, decorating, and landscaping.

I’m still learning the game, Phillip is learning the game on his own, and we’re benefiting from each other’s discoveries. It’s fun.

The Sims 4 is not quite as “open” a world as it originally appeared. This is especially apparent when a sim goes jogging, and turns back after a block or two from home. But, thanks to the game’s clever (and beautiful) graphics, there is a nice illusion that the neighborhood is bigger than it actually is. (It’s like the holodeck!) It works for me.

There is a sense of discovery that I’m enjoying about The Sims 4. Just when I think I’m familiar with a park, for instance, I discover trails leading off to other areas: fields, meadows, gullies, streams, and so on. (I don’t what a sim is supposed to do there, other than fish or practice the guitar, but they sure are lovely spots.)

I’ve discovered a “secret” area in The Sims 4. I don’t know if I really solved the puzzle, or just stumbled into it, but I found it. I discovered the entrance to another “secret” area, but it seems a sim needs a high skill level to access it. (It’s something to strive for.) There may be other secrets out there – I don’t know.

I suppose there will come a time when I know all the hidden areas in The Sims 4. But, for now, I’m discovering.

Leave a Reply

