In The Mood

I finally dropped Birdman Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) in the mailbox last Friday. I say “finally”, because we had it for over a month, and never watched it. Today, our next DVD from Netflix – Tim’s Vermeer – arrived in the mailbox.

I could blame our Gilmore Girls binge-watching for us never getting around to watching Birdman.

I could blame myself for putting Birdman on our Netflix queue just because I thought we should watch it.

Neither of these things are true, actually. We had time to watch Birdman while we were waiting for the next season of Gilmore Girls to arrive at the library. And we’ve watched plenty of movies we knew little to nothing about, simply because they were recommended to us, and we’ve found many gems that way. (Winter’s Bone comes to mind,)

The truth is that neither one of us were ever in the mood for Birdman – or what we thought Birdman might be. I could have watched it without Phillip, and vice versa.

I’m glad Netflix doesn’t charge overdue fees.

Meanwhile, I don’t really know why it’s taking me so long to finish Us, by David Nicholls. I’m enjoying the book. It’s easy to read. I have nothing bad to say about it. It’s just that it’s taking me a long time to read it. Maybe it’s a book I don’t happen to be in the mood for at the moment.

I do plan to finish Us before it’s due back at the library. (The library does charge overdue fees, after all.) It really is a good book, and I do want to find out how it ends.

Leave a Reply

