Games, Chili, Books, and Chili

Yesterday evening, as soon as I got home from work, Phillip and I hopped in the car and drove north – somewhere north of Greenwood – to the home of our friends Katherine and Alan. They have a semi-weekly night of board games and dinner. (Last night, it was chili.) It was our first time joining the party.

I’ve been feeling anti-social for a while now. I’ve been ignoring my friends. I’ve been happy just staying home. It’s been tough to keep up with this blog. (This blog is a social event. I’m writing to whoever is out there reading this.)

But I’m glad we got out of the house last night. It was a very informal event: (Who wants to join in on this game? Or, there’s also this game. If you’re hungry, chili’s ready in the kitchen – help yourself.) It was a good group of people, and a lot of fun.

Today, Phillip slept late, and I spent the day working on a paper-cutting project, taking frequent breaks to play The Sims 4, and to get a ship ready for a mission to Jool in Kerbal Space Program. Then, this evening, we hopped in the car and drove to the University District.

The event in the U District was an evening with Jim Butcher. He’s one of Phillip’s favorite authors. I haven’t read anything by him, but now that I’ve heard his talk, I think I might. We thought it was going to be a book reading, but it turned out to be entirely a question-and-answer session, which was just as enjoyable.

We ran into Snowie there. We knew he was thinking about going, but hadn’t heard that he’d decided to go. Phillip and I took our seats, heard Snowie greet us, turned around and he was sitting directly behind us.

After the question-and-answer session, Phillip got a book autographed. Then Snowie, Phillip, and I walked over to Schultzy’s for dinner. I had a bowl of chili. It was fun evening.

Leave a Reply

