Socks

Yesterday, my boss asked me, “Would you like to go to the U District office tomorrow?” I said, “Sure.” My boss suggested eight o’clock. I said that sounded fine.

I showed up at the Downtown office at 7:30 this morning. My boss looked surprised. “I thought you were going to the U District office today.” I was confused. I made some excuse about needing to pick up something. I put my hat back on and headed out the door.

As I rode the 70 bus to the U District, I thought about where the miscommunication came from. Here’s what I came up with: When my boss had said, “Would you like to go to the U District…”, it sounded, to me, just like someone asking, “Would you like to go get coffee?” – with the implied “together”.

(I told my boss this, later, and we shared a good laugh over it. I have a good boss.)

This trip to the U District wasn’t entirely random. It’s been in the works for a long time. It just hadn’t been determined when, until yesterday. I have a new job duty on top of all my other job duties. I may be working in the U District office for a while.

The timing of this was problematic for me. There was a Holiday Party at the Downtown office today – plus, my immediate group was having our sock exchange. But, I was able to bring some of the work back Downtown, and make it to both events.

The sock exchange was something that originated in one of my previous places of employment. We did it only one year, but it was a lot of fun. One day, I mentioned this to my current group, and a coworker suggested we carry on the tradition among our small group. This was the second year we’ve had our sock exchange.

It’s your basic gift exchange: Pick a name out of a hat and buy that person a gift. But there’s a twist here: The gift has to be a pair of socks – a unique pair of socks that seems perfect for that person.

steampunk socksI received a pair of steampunk socks.

5 thoughts on “Socks

Leave a Reply

