Reading Ahead

So, I wasn’t going to make a New Years’ resolution for 2016, but today, The Seattle Public Library shared this challenge from Popsugar. It’s too good to pass up.

I doubt that I’ll complete the challenge (read a book in a day? I’m not Phillip!) but it should be fun to try. I’ll give it a shot, anyway.

Popsugar’s 2016 Reading Challenge:

  • A book based on a fairy tale
  • A National Book Award winner
  • A YA bestseller
  • A book you haven’t read since high school
  • A book set in your home state
  • A book translated to English
  • A romance set in the future
  • A book set in Europe
  • A book that’s under 150 pages
  • A New York Times bestseller
  • A book that’s becoming a movie this year
  • A book recommended by someone you just met
  • A self-improvement book
  • A book you can finish in a day
  • A book written by a celebrity
  • A political memoir
  • A book at least 100 years older than you
  • A book that’s more than 600 pages
  • A book from Oprah’s Book Club
  • A science-fiction novel
  • A book recommended by a family member
  • A graphic novel
  • A book that is published in 2016
  • A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
  • A book that takes place during the Summer
  • A book and its prequel
  • A murder mystery
  • A book written by a comedian
  • A dystopian novel
  • A book with a blue cover
  • A book of poetry
  • The first book you see in a bookstore
  • A classic from the 20th century
  • A book from the library
  • An autobiography
  • A book about a road trip
  • A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with
  • A satirical book
  • A book that takes place on an island
  • A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy

I’m assuming that, because of the length of this list, a book could complete multiple categories (like borrowing On The Road, a 20th century classic about a road trip, from the library).

7 thoughts on “Reading Ahead

  1. With a limited time for reading, I couldn’t pass up my favorite book for something on this list. That would be like going to your favorite restaurant, where they serve your favorite meal, and ordering “something different, for a change.” It’s never worked for me. I’ve always regretted “something different.”

  2. Hi there! I am also participating in a 2016 Reading Challenge and would love to have you join me on my journey as well! If you would like, please check out my blog. I look forward to reading about what you are reading! Happy 2016 and best of luck on your challenge! -BJ

Leave a Reply

