Late For Work

I had a dream this morning, about work. In this dream, nothing looked like it does in my waking life – not the bus stop, the people at the bus stop, the office building, the office, not even my boss. None of this seemed odd during the dream, however.

I was a block or so away from the office building, in the dream. I checked the time on my cell phone, for some reason. It was 9:20. I wondered why I was so late for work. I wondered if we’d set the wrong alarm on the bedroom clock.

I arrived at the office. All the desks, including mine, were occupied by grade school children. There were hand-made banners on the wall. It was some kind of field trip for the kids.

I found my boss, sitting on a bench in the middle of the room. I apologized for being so late. She laughed, and then shook her head, as if it wasn’t actually funny. She said that I wasn’t the only one – a lot of people hadn’t bothered to show up at all. Then my boss gave me an odd look. I suddenly realized that I was wearing a t-shirt and a ragged pair of jeans. Not only was I late, but I’d forgotten to get dressed for work.

A coworker and I managed to find a couple of unoccupied computers. They were combination PCs and TVs, however. (Picture a computer screen with icons and a task bar, but instead of a static background image, it was a television broadcast.) I couldn’t figure out how to turn the television off, and I couldn’t get my email to open.

End of dream.

The alarm went off at the correct time this morning, and I arrived at work on time. I learned that two of my coworkers had called in sick. These were two people I cover for when they’re out. It’s the nature of our job that work comes in over the weekend, so Mondays are usually the busiest day of the week. Tuesdays, after a three-day weekend, are even busier. So, this morning, I was covering four days of work for two people, in addition to my own workload. I got through it, though.

One thought on “Late For Work

Leave a Reply

