Union Bay Nature Area

Phillip invited me to a Combined Fund Drive event this evening, at the Center For Urban Horticulture, at the eastern edge of the University of Washington campus. I planned to meet him there, which meant me planning a bus trip. (I like doing that.)

A 25 bus could get me from Downtown to within walking distance of the Center, without a transfer. With its erratic schedule, however, I could see that there was no way I could get there in time on the 25.

My best option, it seemed, was to catch a 71, 72, 73, or 74 to the U District, and then transfer to either a 65 or 75 – both of which would get me as close as the 25 would. With that many options, it was the best way to go. Still, to give myself extra time for the transfer, I clocked in early at work (with my boss’ OK), which allowed me to leave early.

I caught a 73 bus within minutes after I arrived at Pioneer Square Station. By the time was got to University Place Station, the bus was already packed.

I thought this was cool: At each tunnel station, there was a transit employee (I’m not sure what to call them) with a hand-held ORCA reader allowing people to tap their cards and board at the back door as well as the front. At Convention Place Station, the transit employee there also boarded long enough to move people standing in the aisle as far to the back as possible -to make more room.

We got to the U District right behind a 75 bus, so there was no wait for the transfer. As a result, I got to the Center For Urban Horticulture 45 minutes early.

I was a nice evening, so I took a walk through the Union Bay Nature area. Fortunately, I had my camera with me.

It was a nice event, and when it ended, it was pouring down rain. I’m glad the rain waited until after my walk.

 

2 thoughts on “Union Bay Nature Area

Leave a Reply

