Two-Car Trains

I haven’t noticed any three-car trains on Link light rail this week. (Of course, it’s only Tuesday evening.) I don’t know if this means ridership is balancing out, or if Sound Transit decided on something else, or if it’s just been my timing. I’m curious, that’s all.

There are now large signs in the Downtown Transit Tunnel: “Free Wi-Fi on Station Platforms.” It could be useful to someone, I suppose. It seems like a good idea.

The same pre-recorded announcements that play in the Downtown Transit Tunnel also play in Capitol Hill Station, including: “Do not cross or stand in the roadway”. It struck me as funny today, since Capitol Hill Station has a center platform, so there’s nothing to “cross”. Also, since there are no buses at platform level, there’s no “roadway”. (I wonder if the same announcements play in University of Washington and Beacon Hill stations. I haven’t noticed.) Hey, as long as they can get me from Pioneer Square to Capitol Hill in ten minutes, I’m not going to complain about funny announcements.

Normally, when I ride Link trains, I head for the back of the platform and board the last car in the train. In the morning, this is a matter of practicality. When I arrive at the platform at Westlake Station, I’m at the back of the platform. When I deboard at Pioneer Square Station, the exit I need is closest to the back of the train.

In the evening, I head toward the back of the platform at Pioneer Square Station. It’s less crowded there, since people waiting for buses tend to bunch up at the platform’s front. Also, the last car in the train tends to be roomier, because – well, my theory is that people want the front of the train since it’s going to get there sooner. (Not many people share my philosophy of a relaxed commute.)

This evening, I arrived at the Pioneer Square Station platform just as a train was arriving. So, I went in through the front door, and found a seat at the very front of the train (right behind the operator). I was facing backward, of course. I didn’t get any reading done on the ride home. I was too busy looking out the window at the train’s front lights reflected on the tunnel walls.

Meanwhile, The Seattle Public Library’s web site, which I’ve been getting a lot of use out of this year, is becoming more and more like a social media site – like a public Goodreads. I think that’s cool. I’d don’t plan to use the social media parts much, but whatever makes the library more popular is fine by me. I jumped in when the library first revamped its site several years ago, so I got my first pick of a user name. It’s been evolving over the years. I noticed recently that I now have my own user page, where I can set up a public profile. I can set up shelves and lists and share them. Apparently, I rated Paper Towns when I finished it (I don’t remember doing that).

Recently, I submitted a suggestion to the library. I considered it trivial, so I didn’t expect a response.  (The web site warns that not all suggestions will get a reply.) My suggestion was: When I check out a book that’s on my “For Later” shelf, it would be nice if that book would automatically be removed from the shelf. To my surprise, I received an email the next day. The library uses a purchased software, the email explained, but they’d run the idea past the IT guys and see if they can come up with something.

I like my library.

5 thoughts on “Two-Car Trains

Leave a Reply

