One Of Those Days

Yesterday, during my morning break, I walked over to the Central Library and returned The Mouse on the Moon, and a couple of books Phillip had checked out. The library has a fun book drop on the 4th Avenue side. It features an automatic door and a conveyor belt which speeds materials through some exposed industrial-style machinery to the check-in desk.

Usually, when I use this book drop, the book I returned is already off my account when I get back to my desk. That was not the case yesterday. The Mouse on the Moon was still checked out to me, according to the library web site. I didn’t think this was odd, actually. It was one of those old books that the library is considering getting rid of – the type of book which, if I’d gone to the Central Library to pick it up, I would have had to ask a staff member to retrieve it for me. (Since I’d put it on hold, it had been delivered to the Capitol Hill Library for me.) The book probably had to checked in manually, which would take more time.

During my afternoon break, I checked on my library account. The book was still checked out to me. I was starting to get concerned. I logged into Phillip’s account long enough to confirm that his two books had been returned in the system. (They had.)

This morning, before I left for work, the book was still checked out to me. I sent an email to the library. (I really don’t want to pay for a book I no longer have and didn’t lose – but I didn’t say that in my email. Plus, I have a good reputation with the library, and I want to keep it that way.)

I got to work today and realized that I’d forgotten to wear my Labor Union’s color. Contract negotiations are underway, and wearing the Union color on Tuesdays is a symbol of solidarity. I think it’s important, and I completely forgot about it. I felt bad, but my coworkers shrugged it off.

Then I emailed a file to the wrong person. The email auto-filled with the wrong name, and I hadn’t noticed. Fortunately, it was sent to someone I know. Then I got notices that three of my work passwords are expiring this week, and I’ll need to invent new ones, and get used to using them.

It was turning into one of those days. Not one of those days where anything actually bad happens – but one of those days when little annoyances added up.

It put a damper on my whole day.

A coworker told me she had a similar experience with a library book that needed special handling. She’d been told to not put it in the book drop, but it all worked out.

At the very end of the workday today, and I was shutting everything down, I took one more look at my library account. The Mouse on the Moon is showing as having returned today. At least it’s no longer checked out to me.

5 thoughts on “One Of Those Days

  1. As I was reading this I overflowed a fizzy diet soda into my little half quart glass- I’m not a regular soda drinker and the frothiness caught me completely unawares and I got a big puddle all over my desk. I also used a book drop today, to return my son’s 23 overdue books. But I’m not going to check my library account because you already had a rough enough day for both of us.

Leave a Reply

