Dreaming Of Dentists

I had a dream this morning that we were staying with friends in a house in Everett. As far as I know, the house didn’t include anyone I know in my waking life. There were many people staying in this house, but only one person permanently living there.

The owner of the house needed to see a dentist, and didn’t have one. I’d recommended mine, so it became my task to make an appointment for her. In the dream, I knew her name, her address, and insurance – but now, all I remember is that her last name was “Miller”.

It was a Monday when I called, and the only day she had off was Tuesday, so I had to try for an appointment tomorrow. In the dream, the receptionist was actually my waking-life dentist’s receptionist. The only appointment they had was 7:00 a.m. Knowing she’d be coming from Everett, I tried to get a later appointment. but had to take it.

As I was reading off the owner’s information, the receptionist suddenly recognized my voice, but couldn’t place it. “It’s Paul,” I told her, “But I’m calling for a friend.” “I don’t believe you,” laughed the receptionist. “What? That I’m Paul or that I have a friend?” We both laughed.

Suddenly, there was a different person on the other end of the phone call – a man with an Eastern European accent. (In hindsight, it was one of the employees at Amante Pizza.) He confirmed the appointment, and hung up before I finished giving the information.

Ms. Miller, the owner of the house, came home from work. (This was the first time she’d appeared in the dream.) She was in her mid-twenties, with short blue hair, wearing a food server uniform, and very distracted. I tried to get her attention, to tell her of the dental appointment, but she kept walking off.

End of dream.

One thought on “Dreaming Of Dentists

Leave a Reply

