This Could Be Trouble

For a long time, I’ve been complaining about the lack of biscuits & gravy in Seattle. There are a few places that have them on the menu, but not nearly enough.

Yesterday, a coworker informed me that a restaurant named Biscuit Bitch had recently opened in Pioneer Square, somewhere on 3rd Avenue. It’s a place that specializes in biscuits & gravy! I later learned that Biscuit Bitch¹ already has two locations in Belltown. (Apparently, it’s been a long time since I’ve visited Belltown.)

This morning, on my way to work, I decided to take some time and find Biscuit Bitch. I stepped out of Pioneer Square Station, and there it was, directly across the street. The “Open” sign was lit, the front door was open, and the “Walk” sign at the crosswalk was on.

I ordered a Straight-Up Bitch – just biscuits and sausage gravy (I could have opted for vegetarian mushroom gravy) and took it to work for breakfast. It was delicious.

This could be trouble. Biscuits & gravy have suddenly become too convenient.

20160601_073326

Today is the first of the month, which means I had to stop by the storage place and pay the rent on my way home. Phillip suggested, yesterday, that I come home first, pick up the car, and drive to the storage unit, so I could pick up our camping chairs from the storage unit, for the parade later this month. I didn’t say anything at the time, but that seemed like an excessive amount of backtracking to me. The storage place is just two blocks from Capitol Hill Station.

Besides, I figured to myself, if I wasn’t able to carry the camping chairs home from the storage place, we wouldn’t be able to carry them from home to the parade. I’ll just stick to my original plan and stop by the storage place on my way home, I decided, and carry the chairs home.

(Besides, there are often cars2go around Cal Anderson Park – and maybe some ReachNow cars – plus there is a bus or two nearby for an easy ride home, if needed.)

I got to the bus stop this morning and realized I’d forgotten the key to the storage unit at home, and the 47 was due in about a minute.

So, I paid the storage rent on my way home today. Although I was in the mood to walk home, I checked on car2go and ReachNow. (You know, I needed to play with my new smart phone.) There were two car2go Smarts and one ReachNow MINI within three blocks. I walked home anyway.

This afternoon, my boss asked me to cover at the U-District office tomorrow morning. Part of me is excited. I can’t remember when I was there last. This will be only the second time I’ve been to University of Washington Station (The first being Opening Day.) As Phillip pointed out, it’s going to be a fast commute – non-stop from Capitol Hill to the U-District! I just wish it wasn’t on a Thursday morning – the busiest morning for me.

¹I’m not crazy about that name.

Leave a Reply

