New Cards

There is more to our adventures yesterday than what I’d blogged about.

After Phillip and I left the parade, we took Link light rail back to Capitol Hill Station. When we got to the mezzanine level, Phillip suddenly stopped. In a panicked voice, he said, “I can’t find my ORCA card!”

It was in a small wallet that held his OCRA card, along with his driver’s license, work access, and some other important cards – which wasn’t in his pocket. We moved over to the side, out of the way of foot traffic. I was about to dash down to the platform, to see if he’d dropped it stepping out of the train, when Phillip found his wallet. He’d simply put it back in the wrong pocket. (We were both tired from the parade.)

Later, we took the 8 bus to the Pride Festival at Seattle Center. As we were walking around, having a great time, I had this feeling that my leg didn’t feel right. I reached into the front pocket of my jeans and realized that my card wallet was missing.

We checked all of my pockets, but my story didn’t have the happy ending that Phillip’s had. My card wallet was gone.

This was a small wallet I keep (kept) in addition to my regular wallet. It held my ORCA card, my car2go access card, my Zipcar access card, punch cards from Top Pot and Biscuit Bitch, my dental appointment reminder card, and nothing else of importance. I had it mainly so I wouldn’t have to pull out my whole wallet every time I tap my ORCA card. It was more of an annoyance than an urgency. Still, it put a damper on the rest of the day.

We checked at the Seattle Center lost and found. No one had turned it in, but the nice lady there took my name and cell phone number. (I really think I lost it before arriving at Seattle Center.) She added that, since the wallet had no identification in it, my chances of having it returned were, unfortunately, slim.

My biggest concern was the ORCA card. My employer pays for it, and anyone who found it could be riding around on my company’s money – I wouldn’t mind, but my company might. I sent a text message to my boss, apologizing for contacting her on a weekend, and asked her to have the ORCA card canceled ASAP, and asking for a replacement soon. (She replied that it was no problem. I have a good boss.)

Immediately after talking with Seattle Center lost and found, I called car2go. After being on hold for 5 minutes, I spoke with a friendly customer service person. She told me that a replacement card costs $25. (I sort of remembered that.) I told her that was fine. Then she asked me if I have a smart phone, and I said that I do. She told me that I don’t really need the card – I can start a rental from the app. So I said no, I don’t need a card then, thank you. (Right after I hung up, I wished I had said I wanted a replacement. I kind of liked that card, and I’m still not acclimated to living on a smart phone.)

I decided to contact Zipcar when we got home.

We walked around the festival some more, but my heart was no longer in it. It was a minor loss, but it was still a loss.

I had enough cash for the bus fare home, but I had to refer to the bus stop sign to remind myself how much bus fare is these days. (We’ve both been relying on ORCA card for years.) The bus driver gave me a transfer even though I didn’t need it.

bus transfer

We got home, and I logged on to the Zipcar web site, hoping I could report the card lost without being on hold for 5 minutes. No, I needed to call. I also learned that I need the card to use a Zipcar. (No starting from the app!) I also learned that I get one free replacement per year, with each replaced card beyond that costing $15.

I called Zipcar. Their system was automated, and a whole lot more efficient than car2go. (On the other hand, a Zipcar member card is more important than a car2go member card.) For a lost card, press 3. Please enter the telephone number associated with the account. Please enter you date of birth. To have a replacement card mailed to the address on your account on the next business day, press 1. To pick up a replacement card at the Zipcar office, press 2. (I was in no hurry, so I pressed 1.) Thank you for calling Zipcar.

I filled out the lost and found form on Metro Transit web site.

I had a dental appointment this morning, and took light rail to work.

One good thing that came of this is that I’ve finally satisfied my curiosity about what it’s like to use the ticket vending machine at a Link station. It is very easy to use.

Link ticket

Early this afternoon, our facilities manager showed up at my desk with a replacement ORCA card. All I had to do was sign a new ORCA use agreement.

Phillip went out to a movie with a coworker after work, so I came home to an empty apartment.

There was a voicemail from my insurance agent. Someone had found some cards on the ground – one of them was an old insurance card with my name and my insurance agent’s number on it. They left a name and phone number.

I gave her a call. I was thinking that if she lived too far away, I was going to thank her, but it wasn’t worth returning. It turned out that she lived right on the other side of Broadway.

I suggested meeting at the park, or other public place, but she gave me her home address.

I stopped by the corner store and bought a six pack of Blue Moon beer as a finder’s fee. (Some years ago, Phillip and I found a UW student ID on the sidewalk. We used the UW directory to contact the owner. She showed up at our door with a six-pack of beer for us. So, I felt I was paying it forward.)

The finder accepted the beer, said I shouldn’t have, and handed me my cards. The card wallet was gone, as was the car2go and the Zipcar access card. The ORCA card was there, as were the punch cards from Biscuit Bitch, Top Pot, and The Soap Box. My expired auto insurance card  for 2013 (which I guess I neglected to throw away) and my current health information were there, as well.

That card wallet was falling apart, by the way, and needed to be replaced.

Whoever has my car2go and Zipcar member cards can’t use them without my PINs. Besides, both cards are canceled.

I got home again and checked my email. There was an automated email from Zipcar, acknowledging my lost card, and that a new one would be mailed. There was a personal email from car2go, acknowledging my lost card, and letting me know that the member cards are being phased out, and going to smart phone only, but if I still wanted one, they can send me one for $25.

All in all, not a bad ending to the story, I think.

 

4 thoughts on “New Cards

Leave a Reply

