Picking Up A Random Book

Have you ever judged a book by its cover? I have.

The Mahe Circle

I saw this book on the shelf of my office’s lending library. Something about its cover told me I should read it. It seemed to say “this is a classic”. (Maybe it’s that the cover doesn’t seem to be trying to sell me on the book.)

The book is The Mahé Circle, by Georges Simenon. I have no idea what the book is about. Even the back cover synopsis isn’t much help:

During his first holiday on the island of Porquerolles, Dr. Mahé caught a glimpse of something irresistible. As the memory continues to haunt him, he falls prey to a delusion that may offer an escape from his conventional existence – or may destroy him.

I borrowed it. I’ll start reading it. I have no idea what I’m in for.

2 thoughts on “Picking Up A Random Book

Leave a Reply

