Slow Reading

On my way up the hill to Writers’ Group today, I stopped by the library and returned The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. I was enjoying it a lot, but it was due back tomorrow. I tried to renew it, but someone else has a hold on it.

I really had no idea I’d been reading it so slowly. I was surprised by the due date reminder from the library. That Reading Challenge really was the boost I needed. Now that it’s done, I’m back to slacking off on my reading.

When I got back home, I immediately put it back on hold. I was toward the end of the chapter where the Merry Pranksters meet the Hell’s Angels. It should be easy to pick up where I left off.

Mariah has left Writers’ Group, and Rebecca was out of town, so it was just Barbara, Russ, and me today.

I brought a piece I’d written yesterday and this morning, about my day in Columbia City. It was spontaneous and rambling, I thought, but that was actually the effect I was going for. I think it was well-received.

Russ had written something, but due to printer troubles, didn’t read anything today.

Barbara read a story that Don wrote in high school, about a fencing match. He really was a good writer.

2 thoughts on “Slow Reading

Leave a Reply

