Picking Up

20160914_175319.jpgYesterday, I picked up another copy of The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test, by Tom Wolfe, from the hold shelf at the Capitol Hill Library. I’ve picked up where I left off. This time, I am determined to read it without giving in to distraction – as much as possible, anyway. (And here I am, setting the book aside to write a blog post.)

This is an amazing book, so far. I like how Tom Wolfe started off writing about himself writing about Ken Kesey and the Merry Pranksters, and then quickly, quietly disappeared into an invisible narrator.

Before I started this book, knowing very little about it, I wondered if it was going to be a 1960s version of On The Road. Well, the main driver of Furthur, the bus, at least in the beginning of the journey, was Neal Cassady – the hero of On The Road. Also, Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg are two of the celebrity appearances in the book. (Spoiler: The meeting of the Beat Generation and the Love Generation did not go well.)

screenshot_2016-09-14-18-44-12.pngAs for distractions, while I was checking Google Play for the latest update for Pokémon Go, yesterday, I saw, in my “recommended” list, a game named ∞ Loop. It advertised itself as a sort of meditation game. A video shows someone playing it against the backdrop of a busy train station. I downloaded it.

∞ Loop (or Infinity Loop) is a beautiful game. The concept is so simple that it needs no interface to fill up the screen. There are only the game pieces and a tiny menu at the bottom.

The goal of the game is to create closed loops by rotating the pieces. (The pieces can’t be moved – only rotated.) When you’ve accomplished that, you move on to the next level.

The challenge is that you never know how many loops you need to make in order to complete the level. It could be one big loop, or it could be several little ones.

It claims to have an infinite number of levels. (I think I’m on level 47 or 48 – I can’t remember.) Each level features a calm combination of muted, but contrasting, colors that change when you’ve completed the loops.

The game is free, with occasional ads between levels. You can also pay a few dollars to remove the ads.

I am loving this game, and yes, it is meditative.

One thought on “Picking Up

Leave a Reply

