Filbert’s Next Crisis

I’d reached a point in the city of Filbert where I was just fiddling with little stuff like frequency of trains and smoother traffic intersections. I was still having fun, but I wasn’t building much. So it was time to start a new city.

My new city is named Riverton. As with all my new cities, I’m learning from past mistakes, and trying out new ideas. Riverton is starting out with more distinct zones – an industrial area with low density houses there, farmlands over there, a densely zoned area with apartments and offices over there, and green spaces separating them all. I thought this map was going to be the one where I finally have hydroelectric power, but I’m just not getting the hang of successful dams yet. Wind power isn’t reliable in Riverton, so I’m having to use coal power until I get more options.

riverton-sunrise

A new day in Riverton

The one thing I don’t like about Cities: Skylines is how it saves games. When you start playing, whether you’ve started with a new game, continued your last one, or loaded a previous one, the first time you save your progress, it will default to the file name “New Save”. You have to remember to change the name or select one of the names of your previous games.

Can you guess where this post is going?

Last night, I started playing Riverton, and I made my first change. I wasn’t paying close enough attention and accidentally clicked on “Filbert”. I didn’t notice my mistake until after I’d confirmed that, yes, I want to overwrite the file.

I panicked, of course. I’d completely lost the city of Filbert. It was the city’s worst crisis.

Then I had the idea of loading “New Save”. So, when I was playing Filbert a week ago, I apparently accidentally saved it under that name. I’d lost only a week’s worth of city building. I’ll have to rebuild the cargo harbor area, and an industrial area, and fix some areas I’d fixed before. All in all, it’s not so bad. Maybe the rebuilt areas will turn out better.

From now on, I’m going to save my successful cities with backup file names in addition to the city names, in case of future accidental overwrites.

This feels entirely different from losing my content in The Sims 4. For one thing, this was my fault, and not the fault of a game company that can’t seem to find the time to respond to service tickets. For another thing, this is part of a city in a series of cities, and not the core of the central game. And also, it’s a whole lot easier to plop down new roads than it is to rebuild a Sim history.

So, now I get to work on Filbert again, and pay closer attention when I save a game.

One thought on “Filbert’s Next Crisis

Leave a Reply

