My Modern Life

I’m not sure where the thought came from, but last night I decided that my Kobo Mini eReader should have a copy of One Hundred Years of Solitude – which is one of my favorite books. (If it weren’t for To Kill a Mockingbird, it would be my favorite.) Kobo Books had a few other books by Gabriel García Márquez, and a book about One Hundred Years of Solitude, but not the novel itself. I did an internet search and learned that eBooks of One Hundred Years of Solitude cannot be sold in the USA (at least, according to Amazon). I wonder why.

Meanwhile, if I were a Canadian citizen, I would vote for the Whiskey Jack as the national bird. It’s a pretty bird with a cool name.

Yesterday morning, during my break, I saw an external cell phone battery recommended by someone on the Seattle Pokémon Go group. (Pokémon Go drains cell phone batteries pretty quickly, and serious players tend to buy external batteries.) I found the battery on Amazon, on sale for 80% off. I put it in my shopping cart. The Amazon Locker nearest our apartment was full, so I had it shipped to the Locker nearest my office.

I had only two choices for the shipping method for my new battery: having it arrive that same day, by 9 PM, or signing up for Amazon Prime for two-day shipping. I decided to not sign up for Amazon Prime.

In the middle of the afternoon, yesterday, I received a notification on my phone that my order had shipped.

At 9:20 last night, I received a notification on my phone that my order had arrived.

On my way to work this morning, I stopped by the Amazon Locker and picked up my new battery. That is such a handy system.

Why a flashlight, though?

Why a flashlight, though?

Yesterday afternoon, I received an email from Phillip. He needed to stop into Elliott Bay Books right after work, and did I want to meet him there? I did.

In my mind, I pictured the best way to get from Downtown to Elliott Bay Books, in Pike/Pine, would be to take the 12 bus up to Broadway and then transfer to the First Hill Streetcar.

Later, when I checked on Google Maps, I saw that Elliott Bay Books is only about four blocks from the nearest 12 stop, so the streetcar wasn’t necessary.

This afternoon, I received a notification on my phone that there was a Mariners game at Safeco Field. (That explains why I saw so many people in Blue Jays jerseys on my way to the 12 bus stop yesterday.) I’d put that notification on my phone’s calendar because it had been Phillip’s suggestion from an earlier post I’d written about crowded Link trains during afternoon sports events.

So, after work, I walked over to the 12 stop on Marion Street, between 4th and 5th. I rode the bus up to Broadway, and then walked over to the streetcar stop at Marion. OneBusAway told me I had a 2-minute wait for a 9 bus (at the same stop) and a 9-minute wait for the First Hill Streetcar. That actually worked out better, since the 9 got me closer to home.

It’s not that a crowded light rail ride is all that bad, but it was more comfortable to ride up to First Hill in a less crowded bus. Today’s ride home didn’t get me home all that much later than usual.

I’d call today’s experiment a success.

3 thoughts on “My Modern Life

  1. I re-read To Kill a Mockingbird in the past few years, and read One Hundred Years of Solitude for the first time last year. I was surprised to read that the gray jay (whiskey jack) is supposed to be found in every Canadian province – I have never seen any here – but then our local forests are not northern, boreal or high altitude. There are some areas of my province where the habitat would be better.

Leave a Reply

